Di Fara Pizza

Di Fara Pizza
1424 Avenue J

Brooklyn, NY  11230
718.258.1367
Wednesdays & Saturdays, 12 PM – 8 PM
Sundays, 1 PM – 8 PM
Closed Mondays & Tuesdays

http://www.difara.com/

It has been however many years since I’ve been trying to go to Di Fara, but it never worked out – until, at last, on our recent trip, we were able to make our way out there!

Owned by Mr. Domenico DeMarco (also known as ‘Dom’), he immigrated to NY from Italy back in ’59.  Most of his family members were bakers and master pizziaolos, and when he first arrived to the States, he worked as a farmer; eventually, in ’64, he opened Di Fara Pizza.

The menu offers pizza slices (regular, square, with topping, or with specialty topping), pizza pies (regular pie, square pie, or the DiFara Classic Pie (with sausage, peppers, mushrooms, and onions), and calzones.  Toppings selection include: sausage, pepperoni, mushrooms, onions, garlic, black olives, meatballs, anchovies, peppers, artichokes, porcini mushrooms, green olives, baby eggplant, broccoli rabe, prosciutto, sun-dried roasted peppers, sun-dried tomato, and semi-dried cherry tomatoes.

When we arrived (very convenient off, literally right across from the Q), there was already a line, but not too long.  I just put in an order of one Square slice of pepperoni and garlic, requested a ‘corner’ piece, and waited for about 1.5 hours.  Now, I didn’t mind waiting, as I was just so happy that I was finally able to try this place out.  I’ve noticed that other larger parties ordered either a small or a large square, which I will probably do, as I saw one that was extra well-done, and it literally came out sizzling (had similar toppings as me) – it looked AMAZING.

When I was finally able to try mine, I found it to be pretty tasty!  I wished I requested it to be extra well-done (which I usually do), but I think I got too excited and couldn’t think straight!  Either way, the dough was nice and crispy, nonetheless, and held the toppings well – the ingredients were quite generous – copious amounts of pepperoni and fresh garlic that you can actually taste, and I loved the chunky tomato sauce that tasted oh-so-fresh!  Loved that!  I also loved the automatic additions of the basil and the olive oil – definitely adds that extra pizazz!

I loved how Mr. Dom was there, assembling the pizza, cutting the fresh basil, drizzling olive oil, checking the temperature, checking the baking progress in the oven, and transferring it onto the tray for the patrons to chow down.

The restaurant itself is small (only seats 19 (and, yes, I counted the number of chairs; there are only 3 tables as well, so expect to share space!).  I’d love to come back again, but this time, I would order a whole Square pie, extra well-done, and gobble up them corner pieces!  Also, don’t be shy in asking for chili flakes as well as Parm cheese – the guy who takes the order is very generous in his pourings (also very nice and very efficient!).

I thanked Mr. Dom on my way out, and he gave me such a sweet smile and a wave – HEART HEART HEART.  Definitely check Di Fara out!

+seeing Mr. Dom in action!
+Square pizza – pepperoni and garlic; extra well-done (corner pieces will be fought over!)
+automatic addings of basil and olive oil
+lovely chunky tomato sauce
+19 seats, 3 tables; sharing will be inevitable
+across from Q station

Leave a Reply

